Members of the SOU, on February 1 2015 the new State Council of the Queensland Fire and Rescue Senior Officers Union of Employees took office.

The new Executive consists of Bevan Moore (State Secretary), Steve Smith (State Vice-President), David Hermann (State Treasurer) and myself as the new President. I would like to take this opportunity to thank the three outgoing members of the Executive with whom I have had the pleasure of working with over the last two terms. John Cawcutt, Andrew Short and Neil Reid have all made an outstanding contribution to the SOU during this time and I look forward to thanking them formally at the upcoming Annual Conference in March.

I would also like to welcome the new State Council which now comprises of the following Branch Councillors.

Gavin Holden (FNR)
Mick O'Neil (NR)
Col May (CR)
Jim Gill (NCR)
Lindsay Hackett (SWR)
Lance Duncan (BR)
Greg Reynolds (State)
Brad Commens (SER)

The SOU Executive look forward to working with you during the next 3 years. I would also like to acknowledge Bob Orchard, Paul Evans, Rob O'Connor, Ray Bott and Jeff Keating who served as Branch Councillors in the previous term. Many thanks to you all for your contributions.

As you would know, February 1 also marked the likelihood of a new government in Queensland. One of the objectives of the SOU is to "participate in the development of strategic and organisational change." It is imperative during this transition of government that the SOU meets as early as possible with the new Minister to discuss our priorities and vision for QFES and in particular, the role of senior officers. To this end, I have asked John Cawcutt and Andrew Short to continue their association with the SOU Executive during this transitional phase to lead a small team and assist with the communication
strategy with the new Government and Minister. 2015 will no doubt be another year of change and I look forward to working with you all and embracing both the challenges and opportunities that lay ahead.

Kevin Walsh AFSM
President SOU